How it started / how it’s going (part 2)

And so, the back garden! The scale drawing:

The back garden is north-facing, and to the north there’s another three-storey block of flats, so it doesn’t get a huge amount of sun. The sunniest time is the morning, when it gets sun from the east; to the west, there are higher blocks of flats and two trees, so you don’t get much afternoon sun.

In the north-west corner is a mature ash tree, and next to the western fence some sort of salix/willow (really ought to identify that at some point). For that reason, spring flowers do really well here – they can cope with the summer shade, when the trees are in leaf; summer flowers have to cope with partial shade. Here are the photos when I viewed the flat in 2014:

I got rid of the red mini-shed (my mum uses it as a wood store now) and dug over the bed on the eastern side for flowers (or rather, I paid a friend to do the heavy digging). My idea was that the eastern bed would be for flowers and the other side would be a lawn, with lots of containers on the paved bits. I decided early on to keep the palette in the back to mostly white, with a bit of blue, to contrast with the front garden where there’s lots of red and purple and orange. Also, I painted the fence blue. September 2015:

April 2016 (second photo, you can see the rose I planted, Variegata di Bologna. It’s stunningly beautiful, white flowers splashed with crimson):

Looking really pretty in May 2016 (must plant more foxgloves!):

Still not sure why I have so many more photos from 2016 than any other year. June 2016, pictures pf the containers on the paved side:

Looking a bit rough in December 2016 (pretty terrible photo, but you can see where a couple of fence panels blew down and the council came round and replaced them):

October 2018. I can’t remember when I planted that Japanese Anemone (‘Honorine de Jobert’) but it is marvellous: it blooms from August until the first frost, and I’ve split it and spread its offspring around the garden:

In 2019 I dug up and moved some of the shrubs around: below you can see the white lilac, towards the right, and centre, a white ceanothus. Looking a bit messy in January 2020:

Look how lush in May 2021, with the white lilac blooming:

During the pandemic I bought a sunlounger which, to be honest, I never lounge on. Perhaps because it’s under the trees so in shade most of the time, or more likely because whenever I sit down in my garden for more than five minutes I notice something that needs cutting back or pulling up or tying in. I liked the solar lights, though, but they weren’t very expensive and have since broken. A mistake. June 2021:

And my birthday present from my parents in 2021 was a bird feeding station:

I had the table on the round patio, under the trees, but it worked much better when I moved it closer to the house, outside the back door. It catches the morning sun and I used to sit there before a day of working from home and drink my coffee. Yes, that’s a campaign board from the 2017 election. May 2022:

Also from May 2022. I LOVE this set of shelves, which I found on the street and painted for my pelargoniums. Most of the pelargoniums, sadly, died in the cold snap last winter.

And this is what it looked like last weekend after a big tidy and sort out:

Leave a comment